The Vampire Diaries: Season 7

The Vampire Diaries: Season 8 Release Date

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (20 votes, average: 4.80 out of 5)
Share It ▼

  • Main
  • Actors
  • Story
  • Interesting


The Vampire Diaries is an American mystery series aired on The CW channel. The story unfolds in the American province, a town called Mystic Falls, which has become the focal point of the supernatural forces. As the story goes deeper, more and more secrets about the town and its inhabitants are revealed.

The show was first aired on September 10, 2009. Each season has 22 episodes (except season 4 with 23 episodes) which last for about 40 minutes. The last season to be screened was season 7, and it premiered on October 2nd, 2015.

There has been no official information regarding when the season 8 will be out. In the case of renewal of the TV show, new episodes are expected in February 2017.

The Vampire Diaries - series release dates 7 season
7 season 22 episodeGods & Monsters13 May 2016
7 season 21 episodeRequiem for a Dream06 May 2016
7 season 20 episodeKill 'Em All29 April 2016
7 season 19 episodeSomebody That I Used to Know22 April 2016
7 season 18 episodeOne Way or Another15 April 2016
7 season 17 episodeI Went to the Woods08 April 2016
7 season 16 episodeDays of Future Past01 April 2016
7 season 15 episodeI Would for You04 March 2016
7 season 14 episodeMoonlight on the Bayou26 February 2016
7 season 13 episodeThis Woman's Work19 February 2016
7 season 12 episodePostcards from the Edge12 February 2016
7 season 11 episodeThings We Lost in the Fire05 February 2016
7 season 10 episodeHell Is Other People29 January 2016
7 season 9 episodeCold as Ice10 December 2015
7 season 8 episodeHold Me, Thrill Me, Kiss Me, Kill Me03 December 2015
7 season 7 episodeMommie Dearest19 November 2015
7 season 6 episodeBest Served Cold12 November 2015
7 season 5 episodeLive Through This05 November 2015
7 season 4 episodeI Carry Your Heart with Me29 October 2015
7 season 3 episodeAge of Innocence22 October 2015
7 season 2 episodeNever Let Me Go15 October 2015
7 season 1 episodeDay One of Twenty-Two Thousand, Give or Take08 October 2015


The series is based on the cycle of novels of the same title written by a US-based writer, L. J. Smith. The books’ genre can be described as a blend of fantasy, mystery, and sci-fi. The concept was created and the script was written by Kevin Williamson (The Scream, The Faculty, The Following) and Julie Plec (The Originals, The Tomorrow People).

The Vampire Diaries is aired on The CW channel in the US, along with such popular TV shows as Supernatural, Arrow, The Kingdom, The Hundred, and other projects.

Main cast are:

  • Nina Dobrev (Let’s Be Cops, The Perks of Being a Wallflower);
  • Paul Wesley (Before I Disappear, Peaceful Warrior);
  • Ian Somerhalder (Lost, The Lost Samaritan);
  • Steven R. McQueen (Piranha 3D, American Breakdown);
  • Katerina Graham (17 Again, The Parent Trap).


The story starts with a tragic death in the car crash of Elena Gilbert’s parents. Elena is a successful 17-year-old girl from a small town of Mystic Falls who has a great school history and attracts her classmates’ attention. Now, she has to continue living on her own with her 15-year-old brother. While she was a jolly and careless girl in the past, now Elena gets deeper into her inner world of emotional distress and sadness.

It all starts to change when an attractive boy named Stefan joins their school. Elena is attracted to her schoolmate and finds out that he is a vampire and is, in truth, a very old creature. Stefan hides his origin from others and seeks peaceful life among people. Stefan’s brother, Damon, on the contrary, reveals his cruel self as he finishes off his victims in a gory manner while trying to satisfy his hunger.

Elena finds herself in the epicenter of mysterious events facing the sides of the good and the evil, while the vampire brothers start fighting for her soul. As the story goes further, the viewers learn more about the place’s past with all its stories of mystery.

Interesting Facts

The full list of The Vampire Diaries novels includes 4 series. The first is as follows: The Vampire Diaries: The Awakening (1991), The Struggle (1991), The Fury (1991), and Dark Reunion (1992). There is also The Return series: Nightfall (2009), Shadow Souls (2010), and Midnight (2011); The Hunters series: Phantom (2011), Moonsong (2012), and Destiny Rising (2012); The Salvation series which includes: Unseen (2013), Unspoken (2013), and Unmasked (2014).

The first few episodes of the show, as well as the novel series, have not received very good reviews from the critics, but with every episode, The Vampire Diaries’ ratings were growing. The show is a great success among the younger audience who is into vampire stories.

In 2011, The Vampire Diaries’ spin-off, titled The Originals, was released. One of the 4th season’s episodes was the pilot telling of the Originals’ family. It is worth mentioning that the filming of the series occurred simultaneously with one of the Twilight movies, which is another vampire saga. The actors of both even shared the same hotel.

Reviews and comments

Promo Art

The Vampire promo 1 The Vampire promo 2 The Vampire promo 3

"The Vampire Diaries" Fantasy Season 7 Credits

TOP5 expected